F1 reveals race numbers

FIA has officially announced the 2014 drivers’ line-up. It immediately stands out that Max Chilton has been retained as a Marussia team driver and he will partner the FDA French member Jules Bianchi for the second season.

At the same time the Federation has revealed the race number each driver will use for the remain of their career into F1. Starting from the 2014 season, numbers will not be awarded according to the constructors’ standing, but each driver will have his own personal number.

Red Bull’s World Champion will run with number #1 being displayed on his car, while his partner will run with number #3. Sebastian Vettel also chose number #5 as his race number in the case he loose the world title. At Ferrari, Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen will run with number #14 and #7.

Number #44 and number #6 for Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg, number #8 and number #13 for the Lotus pair Grosjean and Maldonado, number #22 and number #20 for Jenson Button (the number with which he won the world title) and Magnussen (the number with which he won the WSR 3.5 title in 2013).

Max Chilton hasn’t chosen his race number yet, as well as the two Caterhams; the team drivers’ line-up still has to be announced.

1* Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull

3 Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull

44 Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes

6 Nico Rosberg, Mercedes

14 Fernando Alonso, Ferrari

7 Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari

8 Romain Grosjean, Lotus

13 Pastor Maldonado, Lotus

22 Jenson Button, McLaren

20 Kevin Magnussen, McLaren

27 Nico Hulkenberg, Force India

11 Sergio Perez, Force India

99 Adrian Sutil, Sauber

21 Esteban Gutierrez, Sauber

25 Jean-Eric Vergne, Toro Rosso

26 Daniil Kvyat, Toro Rosso

19 Felipe Massa, Williams

77 Valtteri Bottas, Williams

17 Jules Bianchi, Marussia

TBA Max Chilton, Marussia

TBA, Caterham

TBA, Caterham