F1 | 2017's grid among new-names, confirmations and changes of team

Starting from the Grand Prix of Australia in Melbourne, but even before the official tests, we will see a grid with numerous newness at the wheel of the single-seaters.

Among the top teams, only Ferrari and Red Bull will present themselves with the usual line-up. Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen will have the task to erase a disappointing 2016 that ended winless. After the second place among manufacturers, Red Bull will go on track with one of the strongest couples formed by Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen. At Toro Rosso, the Russian driver Kvyat and Spaniard Sainz jr have been confirmed as well. There is an uncertain future, instead, for Manor which is without drivers so far.

Change of team

Nico Rosberg’s retirement has created a little turmoil in the the market. Mercedes will place side by side Lewis Hamilton and the Finn Valtteri Bottas who comes from Williams, whose place was taken by the returning of Felipe Massa.

Force India, the revelation of last season with fourth place among manufacturers, has asked the French Esteban Ocon (from the Manor) to fill the departure of Nico Hulkenberg, passed under Renault colors.

In his second F1 world championship season, Haas has bet on Kevin Magnussen who comes from Renault and takes the place of Esteban Gutiérrez (moved into Formula E after he missed renewal).

The Swiss team Sauber has torpedoed Felipe Nasr even if he is author of the two only points scored last season. Points that have been worth the tenth place among manufacturers. The place of the Brazilian was assigned to Pascal Wehrlein.

New names

Williams and McLaren are the two teams bringing two new faces (or almost new) on the grid : Lance Stroll and Stoffel Vandoorne.

Lance Stroll (born in 1998) will wear the colors of the Williams alongside Felipe Massa. Despite his young age in his prize list stand out titles in the Italian Formula 4 (2014), in the Toyota Racing Series (2015), and in the European Formula 3 (2016).

Stoffel Vandoorne (born in 1992) will be alongside Fernando Alonso in McLaren, replacing the former 2009 world champion Jenson Button. It will not be a real debut in the World of Formula 1, having already replaced the Spaniard during last season at the Grand Prix of Bahrain. An important debut that gave McLaren the first seasonal point thanks to the tenth place. After the successes won in F4 Eurocup 1.6 (2010), the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 (2012) and the second place in Formula Renault 3.5 (2013) in 2014 he joined the team from Woking. The next year he prevailed in the GP2 Series.

2017 F1 Team/Drivers 


Lewis Hamilton
Valtteri Bottas

Red Bull Racing

Daniel Ricciardo
Max Verstappen


Sebastain Vettel
Kimi Raikkonen

Force India

Sergio Perez
Esteban Ocon


Felipe Massa
Lance Stroll


Fernando Alonso
Stoffel Vandoorne

Toro Rosso

Carlos Sainz jr
Daniil Kvyat


Romain Grosjean
Kevin Magnussen


Nico Hulkenberg
Jolyon Palmer


Romain Grosjean
Kevin Magnussen


Pascal Wehrlein
Marcus Ericsson